Student Paper Prize

Graduate students whose papers are accepted for presentation may request to be considered for the NYSSL Chapter's annual Student Paper Prize. The student will be expected to be present for the majority of the meeting. The Student Paper Prize is juried by three members of the NYSSL Chapter, and is an award in the amount of $150. 

Previous Winners: 

2018 Annual Meeting (SUNY, Fredonia):
  • David H. Miller (Cornell University), “The First International Webern Festival; or, It happened at the World’s Fair.” 
  • John Green (Eastman School of Music), “Sound and Meaning on Radio in John Cage’s The City Wears a Slouch Hat (1942).” 

2017 Annual Meeting (University of Toronto):

  • Patrick Nickelson (University of Toronto), “Inside the Theatre of Eternal Music: Collective Composition, Archives, and the Historiography of Drones.”

2016 Annual Meeting (SUNY, Potsdam)
  • Annalise Smith (Cornell University),"Influence at the Paris Opéra: The Case of Devismes du Valgay." 
2015 Annual Meeting (York University)

  • Alessia Macaluso (York University), "The Exile of Innocence: Fascist Disenchantment and the Music of Goffredo Petrassi."
  • Roseen Giles (University of Toronto), "Jesuit Spirituality and the Fate of Carissimi's Oratorios."